Do not take a domestic violence charge lightly, even if it is only a misdemeanor charge. If you plea guilty or no contest to a domestic violence charge you will lose your gun rights. You will be federally prohibited from possessing a firearm and the State of Nevada prohibits possession of a firearm as well now if you have a domestic violence conviction. This is why you should always fight a domestic violence charge if you value your 2nd Amendment rights.
A domestic violence offense will also cause severe immigration consequences.
Similar to DUIs, domestic violence charges use a 7-year window to enhance the penalties. A domestic violence 1st offense in seven years is a misdemeanor. A 2nd domestic violence in 7 years is still a misdemeanor. A 3rd domestic violence offense in 7 years is a felony and carries a 1 to 5 year prison sentence. Furthermore, regardless of the number of offenses, if strangulation occurs this will cause it to be a felony offense, even if your 1st offense.
A domestic violence charge is a battery upon another person who is in a special relationship with the aggressor. The most common are a battery upon a spouse, significant other, ex lover, relative or roommate. This relationship combined with a battery triggers a domestic violence charge.
A misdemeanor domestic violence 1st conviction imposes a minimum 2 days jail to a maximum 6 months of jail, a minimum 48 hours to a maximum 120 hours of community service, and at minimum 6 months of counseling. You will also lose the right to possess a firearm. It also carries a fine up to $1000. Domestic violence counseling is a 1 and a half-hour long class which you must pay for. The Judge may further impose other conditions such a stay away order from the victim.
Your second offense in 7 years is still a misdemeanor, but it carries harsher penalties and brings you one step closer to a felony. A misdemeanor domestic violence 2nd conviction has a 10 days minimum to a maximum 6 months jail sentence, a minimum 100 hours to a maximum 200 hours of community service, a fine up to $1000 and 12 months of weekly counseling.
A third offense within 7 years is a category C felony, which carries a minimum 1-year to a maximum 5-year prison sentence and a fine up to $10,000. This felony offense is not probational. Furthermore, one can be charged with a felony, regardless of prior offenses if strangulation or substantial bodily harm occurs.
STRANGULATION OR SUBSTANTIAL BODILY HARM
Even a 1st offense DV offense may become a felony if strangulation or substantial bodily harm occurs. In cases like these, do not take them lightly even if it is your 1st offense. You are looking at prison time without probation.
There are various types of defenses when it comes to domestic violence. A common defense to a DV charge is lack of intent, such as an accident. Self-defense is another common defense when one if charge with a DV.
The alleged victim is also a potential defense. It is common for people to lie and allege a battery or assault in order to get revenge or some sort of advantage over the other party. Proving an alleged victim made the incident up could be a defense.
Also, prosecutors have to prove an actual relationship in order for it to be a “domestic” battery. If they can’t prove the relationship, then it should be a simple battery at worst.
See Anatomy of Domestic Violence Defense Part One here.
See Anatomy of Domestic Violence Defense Part Two here.
Recently, Nevada’s Supreme Court ruled that even misdemeanor DV offenses are entitled to a jury trial. Misdemeanor DVs no longer are bench trials with just a judge determining your guilt.
Since your Second Amendment rights are on the line it is important to hire a firm like ours that is willing to go to trial if needed. Contact us today for a fee consultation at 702-895-9111.
GETTING ARRESTED WHILE ON VACATION IN LAS VEGAS
If someone you know was arrested while on vacation in Las Vegas, click here on how to find and contact the jail.
If you have a bench warrant or an arrest warrant call us, we can file the appropriate motion and start fighting for you today. For more information of warrants, click here.
This is solely for informative purposes. This does not create a client-attorney relationship. Always seek legal advice from a licensed attorney.
Excellent Criminal Law Attorney
Adam did an excellent job in his representation of my criminal case. He was honest, supportive and informative all the way through the case. He is everything I could hope for in an attorney. I highly recommend Adam for anyone to use as their attorney.
Attorney Adam Graves got my traffic ticket reduced from speeding to illegal parking. Thanks to him I will have a small fee, no traffic school, and no points on my record. I would highly recommend him.
Adam was great. He spent a little time on the phone talking with me about the options for handling my case, did what he said he would and got the result he thought I'd get, which was a lowered fine by $100 and no moving violation. Very easy process, I'd highly recommend him.