Filed under DUI Defense


REFUSING TO TAKE AN EVIDENTIARY TEST – NEVADA IMPLIED CONSENT Law enforcement uses Nevada’s “Implied Consent” to encourage you to consent to an evidentiary test in Nevada by threatening to revoke your driver’s license for 1 year or 3 years, if you fail to consent to an evidentiary test they are requesting. If an officer has reasonable grounds to believe that you were driving or

SUPER BOWL WEEKEND DUI CHECKPOINTS Metro announced that they will be conducting DUI checkpoints on Super Bowl Weekend. One area of focus will be around Town Square Center near the 15 and 215 highway. This checkpoint will run Saturday from 7 pm to 1 am. Additional checkpoints will be held Sunday between 6 pm and 1 am in an area that is prone to accidents

DRIVER’S LICENSE ISSUES – SUSPENDED LICENSE Many people fail to realize that their license may be suspended for ignoring to pay a fine in another state. The most common cause for your licenses to get suspended are warrants and out of state restrictions. If you fail to pay a ticket in Nevada or another state, it will go into warrant and be reported to the

Las Vegas DUIs And Breath Interlock Devices A breath interlock device is an instrument that records and prevents your car from starting if you have been consuming alcohol. In Nevada, a Judge has the discretion to impose a breath interlock device on a vehicle you own or drive for misdemeanor DUI offenses. A judge can impose this device for 6 to 12 months on misdemeanor

Marijuana DUI NRS 484C.110 You can be charged with a DUI in Nevada if you drive or are in actual physical control of a vehicle on a highway or on premises to which the public has access with an amount of marijuana in your blood or urine that is equal to or greater than: Urine – Nanograms per milliliter            

DUI – Younger Than 21 Years Of Age NRS 484C.350 If you are under 21 years old, it is illegal to drive or operate a vehicle with a BAC of .02 or above. This is a “zero tolerance” type of law. You are not permitted to buy or consume alcohol as a minor, so the legislature wants to deter and punish any underage driving. If

HIGH BAC CONSEQUENCES .18 OR ABOVE If you are charged with a DUI in Nevada and your BAC level is .18 or above, you will be hit with additional requirements due to your high BAC. If convicted, the judge will order you to attend an alcohol/drug evaluation to determine if you are an abuser of drugs or alcohol. The evaluation will most likely recommend additional

SUSPENDED JAIL SENTENCES Many cases result in a plea agreement or deal, with the prosecutor and you agreeing to impose a “suspended sentence.” You will typically hear a 30 day or 180 day suspended sentence in misdemeanor cases. You will enter your plea of no contest or guilty, and ask the judge to suspend your sentence. If the judge agrees, he or she will accept

DUI CHECKPOINTS LAS VEGAS Metro Announced that the “Holiday Season Kickoff Checkpoint” will be conducted Wednesday November 18, 2015 and Thursday November 19, 2015 between 7 p.m. and 3 a.m. Metro will conduct the checkpoint at a location that has consistently shown to be high traffic area for accidents and impaired drivers. The exact location is unknown at this time, but my beats are somewhere

DUI Cost Las Vegas After you have been arrested for a DUI in Las Vegas one of the first things that comes to mind is “I need a Lawyer.” After that is “How much is this going to cost me?” The cost of a DUI in Las Vegas range greatly depending on the severity and jurisdiction. There are your upfront cost, court cost and long